Wisdom is Necessary

Wisdom is Necessary

“If the ax is blunt but one does not sharpen its edge, he must exert more effort, but the advantage of wisdom is it brings success. If the snake bites before the charming, the snake charmer will not succeed”[1] (Ecclesiastes 10:10–11).

            All my life I have been taught that if I want something, I need to work for it. Hard work is a value that many of us perhaps learned early in life. From the hay fields to working at Hardees; the value of those jobs are held to low standards, at least during my teenage years. I looked at those jobs as space fillers earning the least amount of money. It was not until later I realized I was gaining skills from those jobs. As I am now older, I see that hard work and skills was not the only thing that is needed to strive in this world. When I joined the Air Force at the age of 27, I seen what else was needed to have a successful and easier life. During basic training, I was the second oldest in my flight. Through the next year of training I watched the younger members do some ignorant things, some resulting in article 15’s and some being discharged. I wondered why do those things, why go out drinking or do drugs after all that hard work? The answer was simple, they had no wisdom.

I seen the worst in some people during those years and no matter how frustrated I got with them I could not get some to understand. As with my children now, those low standard jobs I had in which I cared less for, taught me some very valuable lessons. Do not expect the best and nicest of things when we start out, rather take every bit of knowledge we can from every job and life experience and apply them. That is how wisdom is gained. Hard work and skill can get us to a point in life. If we want to succeed, we have to have wisdom.

God granted Solomon all types of riches because Solomon asked for the most important characteristic, wisdom (2 Chronicles 1; 1 Kings 3). God placed and still places high value on wisdom. It is important as Christians to seek and have wisdom. Wisdom teaches us, which in turn we share with our children and grandchildren.

A Christian life is the same way. Some things we learn from others, some we learn through experience, but nonetheless, it is all wisdom. As we walk the Christian life and want to consider it a successful life, hard work and skills are necessary but only a part of the equation. Wisdom is needed for it to be successful. As men we need to stress that aspect just as much as we stress hard work and obtaining skills.

-Pastor Robb

“A wise old owl sat in an oak;

The more he saw the less he spoke;

The less he spoke the more he heard;

Let’s try to imitate that bird.”[2]

 

 

If you want to accept Jesus Christ into your life, simply bow your head and repeat these words from the heart,

“Dear God I know I’m a sinner, I know I am not where I want to be, and I want your forgiveness!  I believe that Jesus died on the cross to pay the price for my sins and rose again and is alive today!

Please wash me clean from all sin, shame, and guilt, come into my life Jesus to be my Lord and Savior.  I ask this in your name Jesus.

Amen!”

*Next find yourself a Bible believing church where there are real people with real problems who aren’t afraid to admit that.  And that they know how to take these real problems to God.

*Take time to read from the Bible, if you want, you can start with the Gospel of John and then the book of Romans in the New Testament.

 

 

 

 

[1]  Harris, W. Hall, III, Elliot Ritzema, Rick Brannan, Douglas Mangum, John Dunham, Jeffrey A. Reimer, and Micah Wierenga, eds. The Lexham English Bible. Bellingham, WA: Lexham Press, 2012.

[2] Paul Lee Tan, Encyclopedia of 7700 Illustrations: Signs of the Times (Garland, TX: Bible Communications, Inc., 1996), 1613.

About Ohm Punisher

Vaping saved my life. It can save yours too. I'm here to educate and review products. #notblowingsmoke #Micah 6:8 #vapefam #vape4life #VapeAct
This entry was posted in Papers, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

